Advertisements
News Ticker

Ban on texting while driving in Texas goes into effect Sept.1

Beginning Sept. 1, make sure to put down your cell phone while driving. Gov. Gregg Abbott signed a bill into law Tuesday that makes texting while driving illegal in Texas.

People who violate this law face a misdemeanor punishable by a fine between $25 and $99. Multiple offenders could be fined as much as $200.

Statistics show that every day nine Americans are killed from vehicle crashes that involved distracted driving, such as using a cell or texting. It also shows that 40 percent of people between 19 and 39 admit to texting while driving, and 10 percent of them say they do it regularly.

LEGAL NOTE: If pulled over for texting while driving, a peace officer cannot take or inspect  your phone.

“Prohibits a peace officer who stops a motor vehicle for an alleged violation of this section from taking possession of or otherwise inspecting a portable wireless communication device in the possession of the operator unless authorized by the Code of Criminal Procedure, the Penal Code, or other law.”

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s